Seventh Annual CUGH Conference
Velji Awardees

We are pleased to announce the winners of Velji Awards for Global Health Excellence.



Velji Emerging Leader in Global Health Innovation

Dr. Michelle Holm 


Dr. Michelle Holm is the Medical Director of Global Health Education at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. In this position, she is responsible for strategic implementation and planning of undeserved global health education provided in various hospitals throughout Haiti. She developed and executed a medical phased educational approach that focuses on sustainability. This approach was deemed a successful, cost-effective means to educating multidisciplinary health care providers in developing countries and was published in the Global Health Action Journal.

Along with her directorship, she has taken an active role as a Clinical Pharmacist for the past 10 years and serves as a primary preceptor for educational rotations in the operating room.

In the past, Dr. Holm served as Pharmacy Director of Global Health at Mayo Clinic Abroad. In this role, she developed and implemented an innovative Pharmacy Computerized Inventory Program (PCIP), which is being utilized in several developing countries and has significantly improved hospital pharmacies’ efficiency in inventory management.


Velji Global Health Education Award

Dr. Sudhir Kumar Satpathy

MBBS, MD (Preventive and Social Medicine)
M. Sc in Epidemiology (University of London)

Dr. Sudhir Kumar Satpathy is the Director of School of Public Health at KIIT University in Bhubaneswar, India. Dr. Satpathy has a distinguished professional career of leading and implementing health and disease control program as well as advocating and popularizing public health education in India.

In the past, he was the lead for many Government of India national health programs such as Reproductive and Child Health (RCH), National Rural Health Mission (NRHM), National AIDS Control Program and Revised National TB Control Program.  One of his important contributions for NRHM is formalizing the Indian Public Health Standard (IPHS- first edition) and strengthening the health infrastructure at district level. In addition, as the Additional Director of National Institute of Communicable Disease, Dr. Satpathy initiated SARS and Influenza surveillance program in India to protect susceptible individuals.

Thereafter, he worked as a Distinguished Professor and Head of Academic Affairs at Asian Institute of Public Health, Bhubaneswar, and as an adjunct Professor for University of Nebraska Medical Centre. In his current position at KIIT University, Dr. Satpathy continues to contribute to global health through educating future leaders and implementing public health projects throughout Eastern India. 



Description: Macintosh HD:private:var:folders:_n:fwlvv3ms66bf2143l6kn0p_40000gn:T:TemporaryItems:AAEAAQAAAAAAAAVsAAAAJDZkZDZiOGZiLWI3MzctNDhjNi1hZTY2LTU0ZDU4MzU3OWJiYQ.jpg

Velji Emerging Leader in Global Health Innovation

Dr. Yohannes W. Woldeamanuel


Dr. Yohannes W. Woldeamanuel is an expert Physician and Medical Scientist. He is currently a Senior Clinical Post Doctoral Scholar at Department of Neurology and Neurological Sciences and a Senior Fellow at the Center for Innovation in Global Health, Stanford University School of Medicine. 

Dr. Woldeamanuel has vested interest and expertise in Global Health, Population Medicine, Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Primary and Preventive Care, and Research Methods. He has successfully created an original clinical diagnostic tool, CHANT (Clinical HIV-Associated Neuropathy Tool), for accurate and rapid diagnosis of HIV-associated Sensory Neuropathy (HIV-SN). His innovation, CHANT, was specifically designed to be operated by low-level health providers, which will be effective in reducing health burden in low-income settings.

In addition, Dr. Woldeamanuel has a strong track record of publishing on esteemed medical journals, such as The Lancet Oncology, Journal of Neurology and Journal of Neurological Sciences. He is an Awardee of several prestigious Fellowships, namely, the International Brain Research Organization (IBRO) John G. Nicholls 2012, International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP) Scan|Design Foundation 2010, European Neurological Society (ENS) 2011, and International Headache Society (IHS) 2014.