Innovation & Excellence Awards Website

Since 1982 the Property Council of Australia (originally under our former name of BOMA) has been recognising excellence in the built environment through our awards programs.
Throughout this time our awards program has been proudly supported by Rider Levett Bucknall (formally Rider Hunt).

In 1991 the Property Council’s then state-based award programs were augmented by the launch of a national award to recognise national excellence in the efficient use of capital in a new or refurbished development.

In 2006 our awards program was relaunched as the Innovation and Excellence Awards to more effectively promote and celebrate innovation and leading practice within the property development and investment industries.

This expanded on our pre-existing awards to recognise excellence across 12 categories:

•   Office Developments
•   Shopping Centre Developments
•   Emerging Assets
•   Tourism and Leisure Developments
•   Business or Industrial Parks
•   Residential Developments
•   Government Leadership
•   Heritage & Adaptive Reuse
•   Master Planned Communities
•   Mixed Use Developments
•   Public Buildings
•   Sustainable Developments.

An overall winner – the Australian Development of the Year – is also awarded.

To reflect trends in the industry: in 2010 the Retirement Living and Office Fit Out categories were introduced; in 2011 the Sustainable Development category was expanded into two categories which included New Buildings and Existing Buildings; and the Emerging Assets category was discontinued. In 2012 the Award for Innovation was introduced to the program.


Since the inception of the Property Council of Australia’s national award program in 1991, this prestigious award has been won by some of the nation’s iconic buildings.
1991 Advance Bank Centre, ACT   2006 Lyell McEwin Hospital Redevelopment, Adelaide
1992 1 O’Connell Street, Sydney   2007 Deutsche Bank Place, Sydney
1993 Carindale Shopping Centre, Brisbane   2008 Riparian Plaza, Brisbane
120 Collins Street, Melbourne   2009 Rouse Hill Town Centre, NSW
1994 Pacific Fair Shopping Centre, Gold Coast   2010 One Shelley Street, Sydney
1995 Governor Phillip Tower, Sydney   2011 ANZ Centre, Melbourne
1996 Whitford City Shopping Centre, Perth   2012 Fairfax Media House, Melbourne
1997 St Patrick’s Estate, Manly   2013 Darling Quarter and Commonwealth Bank Place, Sydney
1998 Network 10 Headquarters, Sydney   2014 Brookfield Place, Perth 
1999 Admiralty Quays, Brisbane      
2000 Riverside Corporate Park, North Ryde


No. 1 Martin Place, Sydney

2002 Aurora Place, Sydney
2003 120 Edward Street, Brisbane
2004 University Square, Melbourne University
2005 30 The Bond, Sydney