Best Conference Paper Proposal Award

The awards were announced at the event's gala dinner, held April 19, 2018, at Stag Hill, Guildford, UK.

The Best Conference Paper Proposal Award recognizes select proposals submitted to the conference that represent high quality and relevance to the conference theme. At this year’s gala dinner, three paper proposals received this award.
The Award Committee applied the following award criteria to select the award recipients:

  • Proposal is relevant to the conference theme
  • Proposal brings forth ideas that are original, important, and provocative
  • Proposal topic clearly represents impact to either or both management research and to management practice
  • Proposal is presented logically, succinctly, and clearly

The Award Committee included Annabelle Gawer (co-chair), University of Surrey; Chris Tucci (co-chair), Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL); J. Alberto Aragon-Correa, University of Granada; David Allen, Texas Christian University and Warwick University; Michael L. Barnett, Rutgers Business School; Tanya Bondarouk, University of Twente; Alexandra Gerbasi, University of Exeter; Deepak Somaya, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Mary Beth Watson-Manheim, University of Illinois at Chicago; and Margaret White, Oklahoma State University.

Here are the three papers who earned this recognition at the Academy of Management "Big Data and Managing in a Digital Economy" conference, held in 2018 at the United Kingdom’s University of Surrey. Click on each proposal name to learn more about the research.

#HATEMYJOB; #LOVEMYJOB: Job Satisfaction and Employee Voice in a Twitter World
  • Edel Conway, Dublin City University
  • Pierangelo Rosati, Dublin City University
  • Kathy Monks, Dublin City University
  • Theo Lynn, Dublin City University

The Effects of Novelty, Density and Metaknowledge on Digital Market Entry
  • Harris Kyriakou, IESE Business School
  • Yegin Genc, Pace University

Workplace Surveillance and Big Data: Contextualizing Digital Threats to Employees’ Moral Agency and Integrity
  • Thorsten Busch, University of St. Gallen
  • Christoph Schank, University of St. Gallen
  • Ulrich Leicht-Deobald, University of St. Gallen
  • Antoinette Weibel, University of St. Gallen
  • Simon Daniel Schafheitle University of St. Gallen
  • Gabriel Kasper, University of St. Gallen
  • Isabelle Wildhaber, University of St. Gallen