IAU 15th General Conference 2016
Speakers & Chairs
As the programme is being developed, this page will be updated on a regular basis. So do not hesitate to come back here from time to time to discover who will take part in the conference programme!

The speakers are listed in alphabethical order. 

Dzulkifli Abdul Razak [More Info]
International Association of Universities (IAU)
Sultan Abu-Orabi [More Info]
Secretary General
Association of Arab Universities, Jordan
Mahmoud Nili Ahmadabadi [More Info]
University of Tehran, Iran
Abdul Ganiyu Ambali [More Info]
University of Ilorin, Nigeria
David Atchoarena [More Info]
Director, Division for Policies and Lifelong Learning Systems (ED/PLS)
Fanta Aw [More Info]
President and Chair of the Board of Directors
Association of International Educators (NAFSA), USA
Lesiba Bapela [More Info]
University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa
Roberto Barletta [More Info]
Vice President and Head
Ericsson, Thailand
Arshad Bashir [More Info]
Assistant Professor in Educational Leadership & Associate Head of Humanities Department
COMSATS Institute of Information Technology, Islamabad, Pakistan
Aaron Benavot [More Info]
Director, Global Education Monitoring Report
Steven J. Cannon [More Info]
Executive Vice-President (Administration and Finance)
The University of Hong Kong
Marta Cayetano [More Info]
Communication officer
Catalan Association of Public Universities (ACUP), Spain
Nadia D'Alton [More Info]
Director of Health Sciences Programmes
University College Dublin, Ireland
Pieternel de Bie [More Info]
Developer education & organisation
University of Groningen, The Netherlands
Juan Ramón de la Fuente [More Info]
Former Rector, National Autonomous University of Mexico, Mexico
IAU Immediate Past President
Eva Egron-Polak [More Info]
Secretary General
International Association of Universities (IAU)
Bundhit Eua-arporn [More Info]
Chulalongkorn University, Thailand
Brad Farnsworth [More Info]
Interim Vice President
American Council on Education, USA
Pam Fredman [More Info]
Rector, Göteborg University, Sweden
IAU Vice-president
Stephen Freedman [More Info]
Fordham University, USA
Thomas Froehlicher [More Info]
Director General and Dean
KEDGE Business School, France
Jocelyne Gacel-Avila [More Info]
Director of the State and Society Studies Division
University of Guadalajara, Mexico
Michael Gaebel [More Info]
Director of the Higher Education Policy Unit
European University Association (EUA), Belgium
Nantana Gajaseni [More Info]
Executive Director
ASEAN University Network (AUN), Thailand
Daniel F. Goldstein [More Info]
Brown, Goldstein and Levy, USA
Marianne Granfelt [More Info]
Secretary-General, Association of Swedish Higher Education (SUHF), Sweden
IAU Board Member
Nigel E. Harris [More Info]
Vice-Chancellor Emeritus
The University of West Indies, Jamaica
Daniel Hernández Ruipérez [More Info]
University of Salamanca
Syed Jalaludin [More Info]
Taylor's University, Malaysia
Teerakiat Jareonsettasin [More Info]
Deputy Minister of Education
Worsak Kanok-Nukulchai [More Info]
Asian Institute of Technology
Irmgarda Kasinskaite-Buddeberg [More Info]
Programme Specialist
Knowledge Societies Division, Communication and Information Sector, UNESCO
Yongmin Kim [More Info]
Past President
Pohang University of Science and Technology (POSTECH), Korea
Primrose Kurasha [More Info]
Vice Chancellor
Zimbabwe Open University
Carmen Z. Lamagna [More Info]
American International University - Bangladesh (AIUB)
Heila Lotz-Sisitka [More Info]
Director, Centre for Postgraduate Studies Chair, Environmental Education
Rhodes University, South Africa
Liam Lynch [More Info]
Policy Analyst
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Catherine M. Millett [More Info]
Chair of the Executive Board
Global Access to Post-secondary Education (GAPS), USA
Clemens Mader [More Info]
University of Zurich, Switzerland, President
COPERNICUS Alliance - European Network on Higher Education for Sustainable Development
Giorgio Marinoni [More Info]
Manager, HE and Internationalization policy and projects
International Association of Universities (IAU)
Francisco Marmolejo [More Info]
Lead, Global Solutions Group on Tertiary Education and Lead Education Specialist for India
The World Bank Group
Ygnacio Martinez Laguna [More Info]
Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla, Mexico
Peter Mascher [More Info]
Associate Vice-President, International Affairs
McMaster University, Canada
Ushio Miura [More Info]
Programme Specialist
UNESCO office in Bangkok
Goolam Mohamedbhai [More Info]
IAU Honorary President, Former Secretary General
Association of African Universities (AAU), Ghana
Pornchai Mongkhonvanit [More Info]
President, Siam University, Thailand
IAU Vice-president
Walid Moussa [More Info]
Notre Dame University-Louaize, Lebanon
Sijbolt Noorda [More Info]
Magna Charta Observatory, Italy
Ebenezer Oduro Owusu [More Info]
University of Ghana
Patricia Pol [More Info]
Vice-Chair of the Bologna Follow Up Group - IAU Board Member
Remus Pricopie [More Info]
National University of Political Studies and Public Administration, Romania
Angelo Riccaboni [More Info]
University of Siena, Italy
Chanita Rukspollmuang [More Info]
Assistant President
Siam University, Thailand
Jeffrey Sachs [More Info]
Director, SDSN, and Director, The Earth Institute
Columbia University, USA
Eduardo Santana Castellón [More Info]
Coordinator, Environmental Sciences Museum
University of Guadalajara, Mexico
H.R.H. Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn [More Info]
Ranbir Chander Sobti [More Info]
Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University, India
Prasart Suebka [More Info]
Suranaree University of Technology, Thailand
Charas Suwanwela [More Info]
Former President
Chulalongkorn University, Thailand
Victoria W. Thoresen [More Info]
PERL (Partnership for Education and Research about Responsible Living) and UNESCO Chair for Education about Sustainable Lifestyles, Norway
Gard Titlestad [More Info]
International Council for Open and Distance Education (ICDE), Norway
Hilligje van't Land [More Info]
Deputy Secretary General
International Association of Universities (IAU)
Josep M. Vilalta [More Info]
Executive Secretary
Catalan Association of Public Universities (ACUP) and Executive Director, Global University Network for innovation (GUNi), Spain
Roberto Villers Aispura [More Info]
General Academic Director
National Association of Universities and Higher Education Institutions (ANUIES), Mexico
Patrawan Wanasathop [More Info]
Siam University
John Wood [More Info]
Secretary General
Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU), UK
Go Yoshizawa [More Info]
Associate Professor
Osaka University, Japan