NSF Workshop on Cyber-enabled Infrastructure to Support Carbon-neutral Electricity and Mobility 



Climate change and impact of extreme weather is an existential threat to human society. A key challenge for mitigating climate change lies in decarbonization of the electricity and transportation sectors, which are the two largest sectors responsible for greenhouse gas emissions in the U.S. (contributing 25% and 29% of total GHG emissions, respectively) and many other countries. This requires fundamentally upgrading and transitioning the underlying infrastructure (i.e., the electric grids and the transportation networks) to achieve carbon-neutral electricity and mobility. "How?" is the central question.

A critical path towards carbon-neutrality relies on decarbonizing electric power generation and electrifying of a large portion of the transportation sector. This shift requires combined efforts from various disciplines as it will fundamentally change the way energy is utilized in the country. For the research community, there are unique characteristics associated with transportation and electric power sectors, respectively. The goal of this workshop is to establish the critical cyber infrastructure for research and education towards carbon-neutral electricity and mobility with the focus on the four major challenges.


April 24-25, 2023


Texas A&M Hotel and Conference Center
Texas A&M University
177 Joe Routt Boulevard, College Station, TX 77840

Technical Program 


Day 1 - April 24 - Century Ballroom

8:00 - 8:10 a.m. - Opening Remarks: Interim Dean Dr. John E. Hurtado 

8:10 - 8:20 a.m. - Opening Remarks: NSF Representatives 

8:20 - 8:30 a.m. - Opening Remarks: Organizing Committee Setting the Stage 

8:30 - 9:15 a.m. - Keynote Speech: Pat Wood, III 

9:15 - 9:30 a.m. - Coffee Break 

9:30 - 11:00 a.m. - Panel 1: Join modeling of power and transportation systems coupled by EVs 

Panelists: Lang Tong (Cornell University) PresentationPitu Mirchandani (Arizona State University) Presentation,  Zhaomiao Guo (University of Central Florida) Presentation, and Ram Rajagopal (Stanford University) Presentation.

11:00 - 11:15 a.m. - Break 

11:15 - 12:00 p.m. - Keynote Speech 2 

Speaker: Steven Low (Caltech)

12:00 - 1:00 pm. - Lunch 

1:00 - 2:30 p.m. - Panel 2: Data sets and algorithms for AI/Machine learning-based approaches to accelerate the carbon-neutral transition in electricity and mobility

Panelists: Saurabh Amin (MIT) Presentation, Chid Apte (IBM) Presentation, Dileep Kalathil (Texas A&M University) Presentation, Anna Scaglione (Cornell University) Presentation.

2:30 - 2:45 p.m. - Coffee Break

2:45 - 4:15 p.m. - Panel 3: Modeling and data set for equity and justice research during the carbon-neutral transition

Panelists: Melissa Lott (Columbia) , Omar Asensio (Georgia Tech) , Corey Harper (Carnegie Mellon University), and Daniel Kammen (UC Berkley)

4:15 - 4:30 p.m. - Break

4:30 - 5:00 p.m. - Demo Session: Lighting Talks

Lighting Talk, Bolun Xu
Lighting Talk, Fei Miao
Lighting Talk, Hao Zhu
Lighting Talk, Junjie Qin
Lighting Talk, Marta Gonzalez
Lighting Talk, Misha Chertkov
Lighting Talk, Samitha Samaranayake
Lighting Talk, Yuanyuan Shi
Lighting Talk, Zhengtian Xu
Lighting Talk, Ria Kontou

5:00 - 6:00 p.m. - Poster Session and Reception (Pre-Function Area outside Century Ballroom)

Day 2 - April 25 - Century Ballroom

8:00 - 8:30 a.m. - Recap from Day 1

8:30 - 10:00 a.m. - Panel 4: Experience and insights from building cross-domain cyber infrastructure in synergistic NSF activities

Panelists: Seth Guikema (University of Michigan) Presentation, Cynthia Chen (University of Washington), Yixing Xu (Breakthrough Energy) Presentation, Daniel Work (Vanderbilt)

10:00 - 10:15 a.m. - Coffee Break

10:15 - 12:00 p.m. - Breakout Sessions (Hullabaloo, Traditions, Reveille Rooms)

12:00 - 1:30 p.m. - Working Lunch

1:30 - 2:00 p.m. - Report out from Breakout Sessions

2:00 - Workshop Adjourn

2:15 p.m. - (Optional) Technical Tour of Texas A&M RELLIS Campus (transportation provided)


Organizing Committee


Le Xie (Chair), Texas A&M University 

Mahnoosh Alizadeh, University of California, Santa Barbara  

Yan Liu, University of Southern California 

Scott Moura, University of California, Berkeley  

Yafeng Yin, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor  

Apurv Shukla, Texas A&M University