The New Zealand Pain Society (NZPS) was born out of the efforts of a passionate and committed group of New Zealand clinicians.

1978 – The Australasian Pain Society held their first conference at La Trobe University and Royal Southern Memorial Hospital, on the 1st December, 1978. Following this Meeting it was decided to form the New Zealand Pain Society (NZPS) as a chapter of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP).

1983 – On the 16th April 1983, 60 members attended the first meeting of the NZPS, in Wellington. Not long after this, in July, the NZPS became a chapter of the IASP.

1984 – The first meeting of the NZPS chapter of the IASP occurred on the 3rd September 1984, in Seattle.

Today the NZPS has approximately 443 members from a variety of medical specialties including:

  • Doctors (anesthesia, palliative care, rehabilitation medicine, musculo-skeletal medicine, psychiatry, neurosurgery)
  • Nurses (specialist pain management nurses and others from different specialty areas)
  • Physiotherapists
  • Psychologists
  • Dentists
  • Social workers
  • Occupational therapists
  • Osteopaths
  • Others with a special interest in pain

Contact: Sarah Maley, Secretary, NZPS ~





Workz4U Conference Management Ltd ~
+64 21 325 133