immunologyLA 2024
2018 Program

8:15 Registration and Breakfast

9:00 Opening Remarks Caroline Jefferies (Cedars-Sinai)

9:05 Session 1 – Basic Immunology

Chair: Lili Yang (UCLA)

MicroRNA-146a modulates autoreactive TH17 cell differentiation and regulates organ-specific autoimmunity

Xi Wang (UCLA)

RelA dynamics alter developmental pacing in early B lymphopoiesis

Yu-sheng Lin (UCLA)

Salsa6f: A new Indicator to Visualize T-cell Dynamics and Calcium Signaling in vivo

Shivashankar Othy (UCI)

Long-lived plasma cells regulate patterns of hematopoiesis in aging.

Peter D Pioli (UCLA)

10:30 Morning Break & Poster Viewing

11:00 Session 2 – Infection and Immunity

Chair: David Underhill (Cedars-Sinai)

Expansion of commensal fungus Wallemia mellicola in the gastrointestinal mycobiota enhances the severity of allergic airway disease in mice.

Joseph H Skalski (Cedars-Sinai)

Host EphA2, a β-glucan Receptor, Mediates Protective Immunity and Fungal Clearance During Mucosal Candida albicans Infection

Marc Swidergall (UCLA-Harbor)

Regulation of IL-1β production in human monocytes during Toxoplasma gondii infection

William Pandori (UCI)

rVSV-ZEBOV vaccination induces an antiviral response that confers rapid protection

Andrea R. Menicucci (UCI)

12:30 Lunch and Poster Session

2:00 Keynote Speaker: Paul Kubes, University of Calgary

“Imaging the response to sterile injury”

sponsored by AAI, introduced by Andrea J Wolf (Cedars-Sinai)

3:00 Afternoon Break & Poster Viewing

3:30 Session 3 – Cancer Immunology

Chair: Weiming Yuan (USC)

COVERT T Cells: Engineering T Cells to Interrogate Intracellular Antigens

Patrick Ho (UCLA)

Defining regulators of the radiation-induced inflammatory gene expression program using genomics approaches

Prabhat K Purbey (UCLA)

Nano-Pulse Stimulation induces immunogenic apoptosis in HPV-induced murine tumors and initiates an adaptive immune response

Joseph G. Skeate (USC)

Humanizing mice for developing iNKT cell-based immunotherapies

Jennifer Xin Li (USC)

4:50 Young Investigator Awards (sponsored by AAI) and closing remarks

Diane Da Silva (USC) and Yvonne Chen (UCLA)

David Underhill (Cedars-Sinai) Society for Leukocyte Biology Trainee Award