2015 AFC Apple Award Gala

The Architectural Foundation of Cincinnati is proud to welcome you to the Apple Award Gala 2015 honoring the Cincinnati Park Board and Director Willie F. Carden, Jr. 

The Apple is given annually by AFC in recognition of outstanding contributions to the built environment. The mission of the Cincinnati Board of Park Commissioners is "to conserve, manage, sustain, and enhance parks' natural and cultural resources and public greenspace for the enjoyment, enlightenment and enrichment of the Cincinnati community." 

On behalf of the AFC board, I invite you to join us for a memorable evening celebrating the accomplishments of Willie and the growth of our city and region.  Join us on Wednesday June 10 at the new Anderson Pavillion at Smale Park.

You’ll find everything you need to know about the event here. If you have any questions, please phone our office at 421-4469.

See you at the Apple!


Jay Schuermann
President, Board of Trustees

Previous Apple Honorees

2014 3CDC

2013 Tom Humes

2012 Pete Strange

2011 John Barrett

2010 The Corbett Foundation, Tom Klinedinst, Norma Peterson, Erich Kunzel

2009 Manny and Rhoda Mayerson

2008 Arn Bortz

2007 Tom Schiff

2006 Stan Kaplan

2005 Buck Neihoff

2004 Dale McGirr

2003 David Niland

2002 Robert Richardson

2001 Alice and Harris Weston

2000 Jack Rouse

1999 Dick and Lois Rosenthal

1998 Neil Bortz

1997 Hamilton County Library

1996 Senator Stanley J. Aronoff

1996 Peter Eisenman 

1996 Lorenz & Williams

1996 Jay Chatterjee, Associate AIA

1995 The University of Cincinnati

1995 The Belvedere Corporation

1995 General recognition of FAIAs:

  • Michael Graves, FAIA  (guest of honor)
  • Robert E. Gramann, FAIA
  • Richard Wheeler, FAIA
  • Richard E. Glaser, FAIA
  • John C. Senhauser, FAIA
  • Gerald S. Hammond, FAIA
  • Gary W. Meisner, FASLA
  • F.A. Glendening, FAIA
  • David S. Collins, FAIA
  • A. Notley Alford, FAIA

1994 Joan Rieveschl

1994 George Rieveschl


  • Carl A. Strauss, FAIA
  • Frederick A. Hauc
  • James C. Perin
  • Hope Taft
  • John Smale
  • Fred Lazarus III
  • Nell Surber