4th CORDEL Regional Workshop, May 2022
Wednesday, 18 May 2022
08:15 - 09:00Welcome coffee
09:00 - 10:30Opening Session (1/2)
Chair: Mr Manuel Carrasco, EDF/EUR
Chair: Mr Jean-Marie Hamy, Framatome
Speaker: Mr Yves Desbazeille, Foratom
Speaker: Mr Ramzi Jammal, CNSC
Speaker: Mr Olivier Gupta, WENRA
Speaker: Ms Anna Bradford, IAEA
10:30 - 10:50Coffee Break
10:50 - 12:15Opening Session (2/2)
Speaker: Ms Véronique Rouyer, OECD/NEA
Speaker: Mr Ghislain Pascal, European Commission
Speaker: Mr Roger Lundmark, ENISS
Speaker: Ms Sama Bilbao y León, World Nuclear Association
12:15 - 13:45Lunch
13:45 - 15:00International Standards & Joint Design Assessment (1/3)
Chair: Mr Jože Špiler, GEN energija
Chair: Ms Carrie Fosaaen, NuScale
Nuclear Installation Safety: Priorities related to Advanced Nuclear Plant Design
Speaker: Ms Anna Bradford, IAEA
WENRA RHWG Activities and Challenges
Speaker: Ms Gisela Stoppa, WENRA/RHWG
Experience feedback from EUR design assessments
Speaker: Mr Vincent Sorel, EDF
EUR activities on SMRs
Speaker: Mr Anicet Touré, Tractebel
15:10 - 15:30Coffee Break
15:30 - 16:50International Standards & Joint Design Assessment (2/3)
US-NRC readiness and experience in innovative nuclear reactors review
Speaker: Mr Brian Smith, US NRC
Feedback on MDEP - Regulatory cooperation for new nuclear power reactors
Speaker: Ms Marina Demeshko, OECD-NEA
IAEA SMR regulators Forum activities
Speaker: Mr Brian Smith, US NRC
Internationalization of EPRI Advanced Reactor Owner-Operator Requirements Guide
Speaker: Mr Andrew Sowder, EPRI
16:50 - 17:10Coffee Break
17:10 - 18:10International Standards & Joint Design Assessment (3/3)
Status of Regulatory engagement for NuScale Small Modular Reactor
Speaker: Ms Carrie Fosaaen, NuScale
Investigating open issues in SMR safety cases, the ELSMOR Project
Speaker: Mr Ville Tulkki, VTT
Basis of a new Paradigm for International standardization/Harmonization for the design and the assessment of future Nuclear Installations
Speaker: Mr Gian-Luigi Fiorini, Nuclear 21
18:10 - 18:30Closing Session Day 1
Chair: Mr Jean-Marie Hamy, Framatome
Chair: Mr Manuel Carrasco, EDF/EUR
19:45 - 22:45Workshop Dinner
Dining Cruise on the Rhône and Saône rivers in the heart of Lyon. Boarding at 20:00 from L'Embarcadère. Departure at 20:30. Return to L'Embarcadère at 22:30.
Thursday, 19 May 2022
08:00 - 08:30Welcome coffee
08:30 - 10:25Safety Standards Implementation
Chair: Mr Robert Vesecký, CEZ
Chair: Mr Etienne Courtin, Framatome
Licensing and Permitting Approaches in the Czech Republic
Speaker: Mr Robert Vesecký, CEZ
Different Interpretations of Regulatory Requirements
Speaker: Mr Claude Mayoral, Edvance
Demonstration of avoidance of Early Release and Large Release and the application of the concept of Practical elimination of scenarios
Speaker: Mr Mathieu Bernard, ENISS
ETSON technical board on reactor safety workplan 2020-2025: general approach and examples regarding severe accident management and probabilistic safety analyses
Speaker: Mr Olivier Dubois, ETSON
NUWARD SMR safety approach
Speaker: Mr Stéphane Beils, EDF
10:25 - 10:45Coffee Break
10:45 - 12:301st Parallel Sessions: Risk Informed Decision Making
Chair: Mr Claude Mayoral, Edvance
Chair: Mr Brian Smith, US NRC
Risk Informed Approaches, experience in application, principles for improvements
Speaker: Mr Gerd Bassing, ENISS
Context and experience from RIDM implementation in the licensing of Loviisa Nuclear Power Plant
Speaker: Mr Sami Siren, Fortum
Proportionality of emergency arrangements
Speaker: Mr John Skegg, EDF Energy
Empowering Innovation in Nuclear Energy Sector through Integrated Risk-Informed Decision-Making Framework- An Owner/Operator Perspective
Speaker: Mr Amir Afzali, Southern Company
Safeguards by Design for SMRs: reducing project risk and improving safeguards implementation through early awareness
Speaker: Mr Jeremy Whitlock, IAEA
10:45 - 12:301st Parallel Sessions: Supply Chain
Chair: Ms Julie Gorgemans, WH Belgium
Chair: Mr Oliver Martin, EC Joint Research Centre
IAEA activities related to the nuclear supply chain management
Speaker: Mr Pekka Pyy, IAEA
FORATOM European Guideline on High Quality Industrial Grade Dedication
Speaker: Mr Andrei Goicea, Foratom
Finnish KELPO Project
Speaker: Mr Peter Tuominen, Fortum
Management of Engineering Technical Reference in EDF
Speaker: Mr Frédéric Magloire, EDF
SMR component supply chain : key success factor
Speaker: Sylvain Gien, Framatome
12:30 - 14:00Lunch
14:00 - 16:302nd Parallel Sessions: Codes and standards
Chair: Ms Cécile Petesch, CEA
Chair: Mr Damien Couplet, Engie Tractebel
AFCEN involvement in C&S harmonisation – Focus on CEN Workshop 64 initiative
Speaker: Mr Frédéric Beaud, EDF
Comparison of Nuclear Codes and standards for Seismic Evaluation of NPPs systems
Speaker: Mr Shiva Shamasundar, ProSim
ASME Advanced Reactor and SMR Standards Development Activity
Speaker: Ms Kimberly Verderber, ASME
15:10 - 15:30Coffee Break
Outcomes of the IAEA Technical Meeting on Codes and Standards for SMRs
Speaker: Mr Benoît Lepouzé, IAEA
CNSC readiness for SMR
Speaker: Ms Sarah Eaton, CNSC
CORDEL/MCSTF - Recommended practices of non-linear analysis
Speaker: Mr David Clarkson, Frazer-Nash Consultancy
14:00 - 16:302nd Parallel Sessions: Long Term Operation
Chair: Mr Roger Lundmark, ENISS
Chair: Mr Abderrahim Al Mazouzi, EDF
Legal Frameworks for Long-Term Operation of Nuclear Power Reactors
Speaker: Ms Kimberly Nick, OECD-NEA
Study on implementation of EU Nuclear Safety Directive Articles 8a-8c
Speaker: Mr Olivier Dubois, ETSON
Maintaining design integrity through robust design change processes and the design authority function
Speaker: Mr Simon Brown, WANO
15:10 - 15:30Coffee Break
Principles for developing and implementing safety improvements to existing NPPs
Speaker: Mr Mark Bateman, ENISS
Ensuring additive manufacturing process stability to tackle obsolescence issues and implement new design approaches
Speaker: Mr Steve Nardone, ENGIE
Materials Aging Institute (MAI) : international collaborative R&D to support LTO
Speaker: Mr Hing-Ip Wong, Materials Ageing Institute
16:30 - 17:30Closing Session Day 2
Chair: Mr Jean-Marie Hamy, Framatome
Chair: Mr Manuel Carrasco, EDF/EUR
Friday, 20 May 2022
07:15 - 07:30Meet at L'Embarcadère in Lyon for coach departure at 7:30
07:30 - 09:00Coach departs L'Embarcadère and travel to site (1h30 travel time)
09:00 - 11:30Technical tour to Framatome's Saint-Marcel heavy equipment assembly plant
11:30 - 12:00Coach transfer to Le Creusot Site
12:00 - 13:00Lunch at Le Creusot Site
13:00 - 15:30Technical tour of Framatome's Le Creusot forging and machining workshops
15:30 - 18:00Trip back to Lyon Part Dieu train station (possibility to drop people at Le Creusot TGV Station on the way for 16:45 train to Paris)