Judging process

The judging process is rigorous and thorough to ensure that all the entries receive full consideration and that the true winners are chosen.

Judges will take part in a judging conference call, where the winners will be decided, where one expert per category will be asked to summarise the judges comments and provide any additional input as required. Judges have discretionary power to move submissions into alternative categories that they think may be more suitable. All judges are required to sign a disclaimer form to keep information about entries and the final winners confidential.

The judging panel

The judges are carefully selected for their wealth of experience and expertise, as well as their absence of conflicts of interest.

PLEASE NOTE: Judges do not judge any categories that their company has been entered in and are obliged to declare that they have no conflicts of interest prior to judging.

Judging Panel 2017 

This year we have been joined by a host of expert judges. The judges have been divided into two groups - Captive Owner Judges and Captive Industry Judges 

Captive Owner Judges

Courtney W. Claflin - Executive Director of Captive Programs for the University of California

Julie Bordo - President and General Manager of PCH

Heather McClure - Director of Operations OU Physician 

Luke Figora - Assistant Vice President for Risk Management and Environmental Health and Safety at Northwestern University

Mary Ellen Moriarty - EIIA

Melissa D. Hollingsworth - Director of Risk Management and Insurance for Jelco Insurance Company, PCC

Michael T. Scott - Vice President, Insurance & Risk Management for Archer Daniels Midland Company

Andrew Baillie - Program Director, Global Insurance, AES Corporation

Mary C. Harrington - Director - Risk Management, Subaru of America

Cindy Belcher - Chief Operating Officer, Cooperative of American Physicians

Captive Industry Judges 

Anne Marie Towle - Executive Vice President for JLT Insurance Management and is the U.S. Consulting Practice Leader

Ellen Charnley - Global sales leader and a Managing Director at Marsh USA

Gary Osborne - President of USA Risk Group

Jason Flaxbeard - Manages Beecher Carlson’s alternative risk operations within the US, Bermuda and Cayman Islands

Karin Landry- Managing Partner for Spring Consulting Group, LLC,

Martin Eveleigh
- Chairman of Atlas Insurance Management

Robert “Skip” Myers - Co-Managing Partner of the Washington, D.C. office and Co-Chair of the Insurance and Reinsurance Practice

Nancy L. Gray -
Regional Managing Director - Americas Aon Risk Solutions, Global Risk Consulting, Captive & Insurance Management

Sean B. Rider -
Executive Vice President and Managing Director – Consulting and Development Willis Towers Watson Global Captive Practice

Thomas M. Jones - Partner at McDermott, Will & Emery

Dan Towle - President, CICA - Dan Towle will take over as president of CICA on 24 April and will join the Captive Industry Judging Panel in this capacity.

Bob Gagliardi - Head of Captive Management & US Fronting, AIG

Derick A White - President, Strategic Risk Solutions