Mutual Fund Awards 2016 Nominees

Fund Directions Lifetime Achievement

  • Faith Colish, Neuberger Berman Funds

Fund Action Lifetime Achievement 

  • Barbara Krumsiek, Calvert Investments

Fund Leader of the Year 

  • Scott Minerd, global chief investment officer, Guggenheim Investments

  • Luciano Siracusano, chief investment strategist, WisdomTree Investments

  • Fiona Bassett, head of passive management for the Americas, Deutsche Asset and Wealth Management

  • Mike Crinieri, head of ETF strategy, Goldman Sachs Asset Management

Fund Marketer of the Year 

  • Jeremy Schwartz, director of research, WisdomTree Investments

  • Mark McKenna, head of global marketing, Putnam Investments

  • Mick McLaughlin, head of passive investment distribution for the Americas, Deutsche Asset and Wealth Management

  • Karen McCafferty, head of marketing, John Hancock Investments

Retirement Leader of the Year

  • Vanguard Group

  • American Funds

  • Empower Retirement

  • John Hancock Retirement Plan Services

Sales Success of the Year

  • WisdomTree Europe Hedged Equity ETF

  • Deutsche X-trackers MSCI EAFE Hedged Equity ETF

  • DoubleLine Total Return Bond Fund

  • SPDR DoubleLine Total Return Tactical ETF

  • PIMCO Income Fund

Ad Campaign of the Year

  • Aberdeen Asset Management

  • BlackRock

  • OppenheimerFunds

  • John Hancock Investments

  • Principal Financial Group

Deal of the Year

  • John Hancock Financial Acquires New York Life Retirement Plan Services

  • BlackRock Acquires Bank of America Money Fund Business 

  • TA Associates Management Buys Russell Investments Asset Management Business

Trustee of the Year

  • Phil McLoughlin, Virtus Funds 

  • Leo Hill, Transamerica Funds

  • Sam Freedman, OppenheimerFunds Denver

  • Albert Gamper, Fidelity Funds

Independent Counsel of the Year 

  • Rajib Chanda, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett

  • Lori Schneider, K&L Gates

  • Robert Zutz, K&L Gates

  • Ronald Feiman, Kramer Levin

Hall of Fame

  • James Bodurtha, independent director, BlackRock

  • Jack Bogle, former CEO and founder, Vanguard Group

  • Faith Colish, independent director, Neuberger Berman

  • William Givens, independent chair, The Japan Fund

  • Jim Hawkes, former CEO and chairman, Eaton Vance

Small Board Trustee (under $20bn)

  • Glenn O’Flaherty, Aquila Group of Funds

  • Bill Dietrich, Ariel Mutual Funds Board

  • Mark Garbin, Northern Lights Trust and Two Roads Trust

Newcomer Director of the Year

  • Tim Bentsen, RidgeWorth Funds

  • Joanne Pace, OppenheimerFunds

  • David Malpass, UBS Mutual Funds

Social Media Leader of the Year

  • Putnam Investments

  • JPMorgan Asset Management

  • Vanguard Group

  • Prudential Financial

  • Aberdeen Asset Management

Fund Innovation of the Year

  • Goldman Sachs ActiveBeta US Large Cap Equity ETF

  • Schwab Intelligent Portfolios

  • Aspiration Fund Advisor
  • Vanguard Personal Advisor Services

  • Morningstar's strategic-beta classification

  • Columbia US Social Bond Fund

Alternative Product of the Year

  • AQR Style Premia Fund

  • John Hancock Global Absolute Return Fund

  • IQ Hedge Multi-Strategy Tracker ETF (QAI)
  • Blackstone Alternative Multi Strategy Fund

  • RBC Global Asset Management Cornerstone Investors Program

  • LongBoard Managed Futures Strategy

Rising Stars

  • Renee Baker, Aberdeen Asset Management

  • Ralph Bassett, Aberdeen Asset Management

  • Matthew Brown, Virtus ETF Solutions

  • Alex Bryan, Morningstar

  • Stephen Cohen, Dechert

  • Nick Darsch, Boston Financial

  • Paul Delligatti, Goodwin Procter

  • Elliott Gluck, Willkie Farr & Gallagher

  • Philip Hinkle, Dechert

  • Jennifer Nichols, Aberdeen Asset Management
  • Nicole Simon, Stradley Ronon

  • William Smalley, Virtus ETF Solutions