Transformational Business Conference & Awards 2015
11 June 2015 | InterContinental Park Lane #FTIFCAwards

Below are a number of answers to some of the questions we've been getting. 

If you can't find the answer to your question here please feel free to contact us on

What types of projects or transactions can be submitted for consideration?

The FT/IFC Transformational Business Awards will reward innovation, impact, replicability and commercial viability on a transactional basis across the following categories:

- Achievement in Urban Transformation, with a focus on the following themes:
      - Building Cities – Infrastructure, buildings, urban water, sanitation, waste, recycling
      - Planning Cities -- Land rights, land use, land planning, housing, affordable housing,               transportation, migration, mobility
      - Powering Cities -- Energy, energy efficiency, citywide access to power
      - Feeding Cities -- Food, food security, water
      - Livable Cities -- Health, education, job creation, security, safety

- Special Award: Excellence in City Transformation
- Achievement in Information and Communications Technology
- Achievement in Transformational Finance
- Achievement in Inclusive Business

Who can apply?

The Transformational Business Awards are open to all organisations – financial and non-financial – across both the private and public sectors.

What is the cost to enter?

There is no cost to enter the awards. Tickets can be purchased to attend the Conference & Awards ceremony.

Can transactions-in-progress be submitted or do they have to have been completed and in the implementation stage? 

Projects or transactions must have passed the implementation stage.

Should transactions have been completed in 2014 or can applications cover transactions from an earlier date? If so, how far back?

Only initiatives that have been implemented since 2010 will be eligible.

Do transactions have to be commercially viable?

Projects or transactions must be commercially viable now or potentially within five years of implementation. Financial sustainability is one of the criteria the judges will use to evaluate entries.

Are only transactions in emerging markets allowed?

No, transactions or programmes active in developed economies can be submitted, as long as they have potential replicability in severely under-supplied regions.

What will the judges be looking for?

When it comes to judging, our panel will be assessing your entry against the following judging criteria. We have one criteria for the Special Award: Excellence in City Transformation category and another criteria for all other categories.

Judging Criteria for: Achievement in Urban Transformation, Achievement in Information and Communications Technology, Achievement in Transformational Finance, Achievement in Inclusive Business - Click here >>

Judging Criteria for: Special Award: Excellence in City Transformation - Click here >>

When will the judging occur?

The deadline for entries is March 31. Short-lists will be announced on or around April 24. The final judging meeting will be on June 10, the day before the Awards dinner in London.

Who is on the judging panel?

A list of judges is available here.