Rheumatology 2017

BSR and BHPR Prizes and awards for 2017

Celebrating the individuals who change the face of rheumatology

The British Society for Rheumatology Awards reward, celebrate and share outstanding achievements in rheumatology. They encourage those working to improve patient care across all levels and offer you the chance to make your mark in your profession.

Each of the prizes and awards will be given to the winners at Rheumatology 2017 and many prize packages include the opportunity to attend the conference or present your work.

Whether you’re a researcher, scientist, medical student, allied health professional or consultant, we want to hear from you.

Enter now for your opportunity to

  • Showcase your expertise to an engaged audience of professional peers
  • Get the recognition you deserve
  • Inspire and inform others
  • Advance your reputation by presenting your work


Supporting learning and development of skills, the British Society for Rheumatology offers a range of bursaries, enabling applicants at all career stages to partake in educational visits and to attend Rheumatology 2017. Open to entrants in a variety of roles, the bursaries have assisted the professional development of over 50 recipients in the last 4 years.



Michael Mason Prize

The esteemed Michael Mason Prize is awarded by the Heberden Committee for excellence in clinical or scientific research in the field of rheumatology.

Congratulations to our 2017 winner Dr Francesca Barone, University of Birmingham.


Garrod Prize

The prestigious Garrod Prize is open to scientists with a non-clinical background currently working in rheumatology or a related discipline. BSR would normally expect candidates to be within 15 years of graduation. 

Congratulations to our 2017 winner Dr Helen Wright, University of Liverpool.


Young Investigator awards

These awards are intended to encourage the work of young investigative rheumatologists. 

Congratulations to our 2017 winners Miss Laura Magill, University College London and Mr Paul Martin, University of Manchester.


Droitwich medical trust Prize

The Droitwich Prize, funded by the Droitwich Medical Trust Fund, will be awarded to the best clinical case report, based on either a poster presentation of the case, or an oral presentation during the session devoted to case reports. 

Submission deadline has now passed.


BHPR Clinical Prize

This prestigious annual award is made to recognise examples of outstanding clinical work, highlight best practice, and improved patient care. 

Congratulations to our 2017 winner Professor Michael Hurley, St George's University of London and Kingston University.


   BHPR Educational bursary

These awards are made to enable members to make an educational visit/attend a course/conference which will enhance their Rheumatology skills or knowledge. Applications will be judged anonymously and independently by a panel nominated by BHPR. Judges will reach a consensus on the applications and awards will be made to the applicants thought to benefit most from the course/event/visit.

Submission deadline has now passed.


BHPR student/recently qualified health professional

This prestigious annual award is presented to an applicant who in the opinion of the judging panel is deemed to have submitted a piece of work that is of outstanding quality for a person at this stage in their career and be directly relevant to rheumatology.

Submission site has now closed  


 Chris Moran poster Prize

This prize is judged by a panel of judges during the BHPR poster session at the annual conference. An award is given to the best overall poster, reflecting both presentation of the poster and underlying quality.

Submission site has now closed