IAU 2018 International Conference
Speakers & Chairs
As the programme is being developed, this page will be updated on a regular basis. So do not hesitate to come back here from time to time to discover who will take part in the conference programme!

The speakers are listed in alphabethical order. 

Vincent A. Ankamah-Lomotey [More Info]
Deputy Registrar
Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Ghana
Dzulkifli Abdul Razak [More Info]
Immediate Past President
International Association of Universities
Hirofumi Abe [More Info]
RCE Okayama
Harith Ahmad [More Info]
Director of Photonics Research Centre
University of Malaya, Malaysia
Claire Callender [More Info]
Deputy Director, Centre for Global Higher Education (CGHE)
UCL Institute of Education and Birkbeck, United Kingdom
Salim Daccache, s.j. [More Info]
Rector, Saint Joseph University of Beirut, Lebanon
and IAU Board member
Andrew Deeks [More Info]
President, University College Dublin, Ireland
and IAU Board member
Ibtihal El Bastawissi [More Info]
Dean, Faculty of Architecture - Design & Built Environment
Beirut Arab University, Lebanon
Mohamed Elgeddawy [More Info]
Director of the Learning Resources and Professional Development Centers
Prince Mohammad Bin Fahd University (PMU), Saudi Arabia
Roberto Escalante Semerena [More Info]
Association of Universities of Latin America and the Caribbean (UDUAL), Mexico - IAU Board member
J. Alfonso Esparza Ortiz [More Info]
Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla (BUAP), Mexico
Orla Flynn [More Info]
Cork Institute of Technology, Ireland
Pam Fredman [More Info]
International Association of Universities (IAU)
Lee G. Sternberger [More Info]
Associate Provost, Academic Affairs and Executive Director, Center for Global Engagement
James Madison Universities, USA
Munirah Ghazali [More Info]
RCE Penang
Nadja Gmelch [More Info]
Open Knowledge Action Plan Coordinator, UOC
Open University of Catalonia (UOC), Spain
Budd Hall [More Info]
UNESCO Chair in Community Based Research
University Of Victoria, Canada
Abdul Rahim Hashim [More Info]
University of Malaya, Malaysia
Noor Hayaty [More Info]
Dean of Health and Well-being Research Cluster
University of Malaya, Malaysia
Daniel Hernández Ruipérez [More Info]
Former Rector
University of Salamanca, Spain
Charles A. Hopkins [More Info]
UNESCO Chair in Reorienting Education towards Sustainability
York University, Canada
Henning Jensen Pennington [More Info]
University of Costa Rica
Kenji Kakuta [More Info]
Deputy Secretary
The Japan Association of National Universities (JANU), Japan
Cadence Kaumoana [More Info]
Academic Group Manager
NorthTec, New Zealand
Katrin Kohl [More Info]
Global Project Coordinator
York University, Canada
Carmen Z. Lamagna [More Info]
Vice-Chancellor, American International University - Bangladesh (AIUB)
and IAU Board member
Rita Locatelli [More Info]
UNESCO Chair on Human Rights and Ethics of International Cooperation
University of Bergamo, Italy
David Lock [More Info]
Secretary General
Magna Charta Observatory
Marta Losada Falk [More Info]
Former President, Antonio Nariño University (UAN), Bogotá, Colombia
and IAU Board member
Mohamed Loutfi [More Info]
Council member, Magna Charta Observatory &
President, The Knowledge Hub, International University Institution on Egypt
Mandla Makhanya [More Info]
University of South Africa (UNISA), South Africa
Ivan Maly [More Info]
Masaryk University, Czech Republic
Norma Mansor [More Info]
Director of Social Wellbeing Research Centre (SWRC) (formerly known as SSRC), University of Malaya and President, Malaysian Economic Association (MEA)
Maria de Fátima Marinho [More Info]
Former Vice-Rector for Cooperation and Culture, University of Porto, Portugal
and IAU Board member
Peter Mascher [More Info]
Associate Vice-President, International Affairs
McMaster University, Canada
Sina Meraji [More Info]
Computer Science undergraduate student
University of Malaya, Malaysia
Ushio Miura [More Info]
Programme Specialist
UNESCO Asia & Pacific Regional Bureau for Education, Thailand
Victor Narzary [More Info]
Assistant Professor
Assam Don Bosco University (ADBU) , India
Masoud Parsi Nejad [More Info]
Associate Professor
University of Tehran, Iran
Dag Rune Olsen [More Info]
University of Bergen, Norway
Mazlan Othman [More Info]
International Council for Science Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific (ROAP), Malaysia
Roger Petry [More Info]
RCE Saskatchewan, Canada
Pierre André Pierre [More Info]
Université Notre-Dame d’Haiti – UNDH, Haiti
Remus Pricopie [More Info]
Rector, National University of Political Studies and Public Administration, Romania
and IAU Board member
Irfan Prijambada [More Info]
RCE Yogyakarta
Clément Ramiarinjaona [More Info]
Agence Universitaire de la Francophonie
Ahmad Reza Sharafat [More Info]
Senior Adviser to Chancellor in International Affairs
Tarbiat Modares University, Iran
Daniel Riera i Terrén [More Info]
Faculty of IT, Multimedia and Communication
Open University of Catalonia (UOC), Spain
Chanita Rukspollmuang [More Info]
Vice President
Siam University, Thailand
Quinn Runkle [More Info]
Education for Sustainable Development Programme Manager
Department for Sustainability, National Union of Students (NUS), UK
Outi Snellman [More Info]
Vice-President Organisation
UArctic, hosted by University of Lapland, Finland
Mario Tabucanon [More Info]
Institute for the Advanced Study of Sustainability
United Nations University (UNU), Japan
John Thwaites [More Info]
Monash Sustainable Development Institute & ClimateWorks, Australia
Paul Tiyambe Zeleza [More Info]
Vice-Chancellor, United States International University-Africa, Nairobi, Kenya
and IAU Board member
Hilligje van't Land [More Info]
Secretary General
International Association of Universities (IAU)
Josep M. Vilalta [More Info]
Executive Secretary
Catalan Association of Public Universities (ACUP) and Executive Director, Global University Network for innovation (GUNi), Spain
Charles C. Villanueva [More Info]
Senior Asso. Vice President, Center for Research, Planning & Development
American International University – Bangladesh
César Wazen [More Info]
Director, International Affairs Office
Qatar University
Lesley Wilson [More Info]
Secretary General
European University Association (EUA)
Inga Zaleniene [More Info]
Vice-Rector for Education and Research, Mykolas Romeris University, Lithuania
and IAU Board member