Join NCI, NASA, and the Radiation Research Society on this 3-day Joint Symposium

The 3-day Joint Symposium, “Particle Radiobiology in Space and Oncology,” will be held May 27-29, 2020 in coordination with other Federal Government Agencies/Institutes that have active programs in radiation research.

Over 50 pre-eminent experts will compare and contrast the needs in radiobiology for space exploration and radiation oncology. Over 12 fast-track sessions, topics of mutual interest from the perspectives of space, research, and the clinic will be discussed to facilitate opportunities to synergistically enhance & maximize efforts across the many fields of the radiation sciences. This collaborative symposium represents a unique program arranged between RRS, NCI & NASA, in addition to several other Federal Agencies.

We hope you will join us for a refreshing & purposeful approach to solve future challenges facing the radiation sciences community. See how our similarities and differences become an opportunity for growth when approached collectively.

Program Sessions

  • Organs at Risk
  • Physics, Chemistry and Dosimetry of Heavy Ions
  • DNA Damage Response
  • Mechanisms of Cell Death
  • Immune Modulation
  • Carcinogenesis
  • Non-Targeted Biology
  • Biomarkers: Omics & Metabolomics
  • Countermeasures
  • Emerging Models - In Vivo & In Vitro
  • Biological & Mathematical Modeling
  • Facilities and Funding Opportunities


Our Featured Speakers

We strive to bring you speakers that are not only leaders and pioneers in the radiation sciences, but invaluable teachers and professionals that can provide you with the knowledge and inspiration to change the face of science.

Serena Auñón-Chancellor, MD

Astronaut, NASA

Francis Cucinotta, PhD

Professor, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Marco Durante, PhD

Professor, GSI Helmholtz Center, Germany

Organizing Committee

Radiation Research Society - Chair: Francis Cucinotta, PhD
National Cancer Institute - Chair: Mansoor Ahmed, PhD
National AeronauticsSpace Administration - Chair: Lisa Scott Carnell, PhD

Program Committee

Session Chairs
Pataje Prasanna, PhD
Eleanor Blakely, PhD
Ceferino Obcemea, PhD
George Iliakis, PhD
Quynh Thu Le, MD
Mansoor Ahmed, PhD
Mary Helen Barcellos-Hoff, PhD
Tom Hei, PhD
Albert Fornace, MD
Andrea DiCarlo-Cohen, PhD
Chang-Lung Lee, PhD
Fracis Cucinotta, PhD
Vik Vikram, MD

Session Co-Chairs
Lisa Scott Carnell, PhD
Yukio Uchihori, PhD
Lawrence Heilbronn, PhD
Asaithamby Aroumougame, PhD
Eduardo Almeida, PhD
Sharmila Bhattacharya, PhD
Jeffery Buchsbaum, PhD
Michael Story, PhD
William Dynan, PhD
Jan Schuemann, PhD
C. Noman Coleman, MD



National Institutes of Health: Building 45, Natcher

The conference will be held at the Natcher Building, completed in 1994, which includes office space for 600 NIH extramural staff, a 1,000-seat auditorium, a state-of-the-art multiuse Conference Center with nine conference rooms, a 300-seat cafeteria, and below grade employee parking for 450 vehicles. Please note, there are some entrance restrictions and important information. Please click the below button to learn more.

45 Center Dr, Bethesda, MD 20894

380 Ice Center Lane, Suite C | Bozeman, MT 59718 | 1.877.216.1919
Member Services: Audrey Rinehart | 1.877.216.1919  | 

Registration and Housing Agent of Record: Associations & Meetings by Design

Phone: 888.995.3088