About CTE


Welcome to the 2020 CTE Summer Conference

The mission of North Carolina secondary Career and Technical Education is to empower all students to be successful citizens, workers, and leaders in a global economy.

About CTE

Programs in Career and Technical Education are designed to contribute to the broad educational achievement of students, including basic skills such as reading, writing, and mathematics, as well as their ability to work independently and as part of a team, think creatively, solve problems, and utilize technology. 

We are proud to have 931,801 Career and Technical Education participants. The 2018 CTE Concentrator Graduation rate of 99.2% is evidence of how CTE is Learning that works for North Carolina. 

Whether students plan to further their education in community colleges, technical schools, four-year colleges and universities, receive on-the-job training, or pursue careers in the military, CTE can be the first step in a pathway toward productive employment and citizenship.

CAREER AND TECHNICAL EDUCATION (CTE) STAFF

LEADERSHIP TEAM

 

STATE DIRECTOR                                    

Trey Michael
trey.michael@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3764

ASSISTANT DIRECTOR                  

Kimberly MacDonald
kimberly.macdonald@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3936

SECTION CHIEF FOR CURRICULUM

Delores P. Ali
delores.ali@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3875 

SECTION CHIEF FOR ASSESSMENT

Angela LeMay
angela.lemay@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3893

SECTION CHIEF FOR PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT

Felicia Gray-Watson
felicia.graywatson@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3892

SECTION CHIEF FOR REGIONAL SERVICES

Marty Tobey
Piedmont-Triad Region
marty.tobey@dpi.nc.gov, 336-991-8521

CAREER READINESS 

Jacqueline Wyatt
Jacqueline.wyatt@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3889

CONSULTANTS

SENIOR DATA ANALYST

Mary Elmer
mary.elmer@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3607

CTE SYSTEMS COORDINATOR

Jennifer Winstead
jennifer.winstead@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3929

BUSINESS, FINANCE, AND MARKETING EDUCATION

Gail McDougal
gail.mcdougal@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3816 - Twitter: @ctencmee

Ashleigh Wagoner
Ashleigh.Wagoner@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3871

CAREER DEVELOPMENT, CDC

Amy Policastro Schroeder
amy.schroeder@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3822

COMPUTER SCIENCE AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY EDUCATION

Linda Lay
linda.lay@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3883 -- Twitter: @NCCSIT

Karen McPherson
karen.mcpherson@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-4014 --Twitter: @NCCSIT

CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTIONAL MANAGEMENT

Stephen Kelley
stephen.kelley@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3933

FAMILY AND CONSUMER SCIENCES EDUCATION

Robert Van Dyke
Robert.Vandyke@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3893 -- Twitter: @ncfacs

Valerie Williams
valerie.williams@dpi.nc.gov

HEALTH SCIENCE EDUCATION

Barbara Burt
barbara.burt@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3837

Ashley Orr
ashley.orr@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3880

SPECIAL POPULATIONS/CIVIL RIGHTS/EQUITY

Shannon Baker
shannon.baker@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3891

TRADE, TECHNOLOGY, ENGINEERING, AND INDUSTRIAL EDUCATION

Dr. David Barbour
david.barbour@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3885

Brian Moye
brian.moye@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3886

Craig Pendergraft 
craig.pendergraft@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3881

James Pressly
james.pressly@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3887

WORK-BASED LEARNING

Cheryl Causey Cox
cheryl.cox@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3814 -  Twitter: @CteWbl

 

ADMINISTRATIVE SUPPORT

Chanda Pickett
chanda.pickett@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3878

Hollie Blackwell
hollie.blackwell@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3818

Phyllis Jernigan
phyllis.jernigan@dpi.nc.gov, 919-807-3845

REGIONAL COORDINATORS

Pam Lewis, Northeast 
pam.lewis@dpi.nc.gov, 252-220-2103

Lee O'Neal, Southeast
lee.oneal@dpi.nc.gov, 910-632-3578

Bob Gantt, North Central
bob.gantt@dpi.nc.gov, 919-667-5767

Ann Callicutt, Sandhills
ann.callicutt@dpi.nc.gov, 336-953-2404

Marty Tobey, Piedmont-Triangle
marty.tobey@dpi.nc.gov, 336-475-0184

Robert Filter, Southwest
robert.filter@dpi.nc.gov, 704-577-0991

Lisa Conger, Northwest
lisa.conger@dpi.nc.gov, 704-677-8968

Anna Hair, Western
anna.hair@dpi.nc.gov, 828-736-8938

 

CAREER AND TECHNICAL STUDENT ORGANIZATION (CTSO)
STATE ADVISORS

Pam O'Brien, NC DECA
pam.obrien@dpi.nc.gov, 919-271-5623
www.ncdeca.org, Twitter: @NC_DECA

Mary Jane Thomas, NC FBLA
maryjane.Thomas@dpi.nc.gov 919-807-3873
www.NCFBLA.org, Twitter: @NC__FBLA

Jenny Watson and Kelly Painter, NC FCCLA
jlwatson2@wsfcs.k12.nc.us, kelly_painter@pender.k12.nc.us
www.ncfccla.org, Twitter: @ncfccla

Jason Davis, FFA Coordinator
jason.davis@ncsu.edu, 919-515-4206

Paul Heidepriem, SkillsUSA
paul@skillsusanc.org, 919-675-1241
www.skillsusanc.org

Jerianne Taylor, NCTSA
jerianne.taylor@dpi.nc.gov
www.nctsa.org

NORTH CAROLINA STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Eric C. Davis
Chairman, Member at Large
eric.davis@dpi.nc.gov

Alan Duncan
Vice Chairman, Piedmont-Triad Education Region
alan.duncan@dpi.nc.gov

Dan Forest
Lieutenant Governor
dan.forest@dpi.nc.gov

Dale Folwell
State Treasurer
dale.folwell@dpi.nc.gov

Wayne McDevitt
Western Education Region
wayne.mcdevitt@dpi.nc.gov

Patricia Willoughby
Member at Large
patricia.willoughby@dpi.nc.gov

Dr. Olivia Holmes Oxendine
Sandhills Education Region
olivia.oxendine@dpi.nc.gov

Reginald Kenan
Southeast Education Region
reginald.kenan@dpi.nc.gov

Amy White
North Central Education Region
amy.white@dpi.nc.gov

Todd Chasteen
Northwest Education Region
todd.chasteen@dpi.nc.gov

James E. Ford
Southwest Education Region
James.Ford@dpi.nc.gov

JB Buxton
Member at Large
JB.Buxton@dpi.nc.gov

Jill Camnitz
Northeast Education Region
Jill.Camnitz@dpi.nc.gov

Mark Johnson
State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Chief Administrative Officer and Secretary to the Board
mark.johnson@dpi.nc.gov

Dr. Janet Mason
SBE Superintendent Advisor
jmason@rcsnc.org

Christian Overton
Local Board of Education Advisor
caoverton@camden.k12.nc.us

Tabari Wallace
NC Wells Fargo Principal of the Year Advisor
tabari.wallace@cravenk12.org

Freebird McKinney
Burroughs Wellcome Fund NC Teacher of the Year Advisor
bryan_mckinney@abss.k12.nc.us

Lisa Godwin
Burroughs Wellcome Fund NC Teacher of the Year Advisor
lisagodwinNCTOY@gmail.com