Preliminary Schedule - Monday, October 19

All Times Are Eastern Time (EDT)


Color Key







8:15AM - 9:00AM

Sunrise Session: Free radical biology
Speaker: Garry Buettner
Chair: Manuela Buonanno

9:15AM - 10:00AM

TR 06: DNA repair
Speaker: Paul Doetsch
Chair: Lynn Harrison

TR 08: Biodosimetry
Speaker: Ulrike Kulka
Chair: Merriline Satyamitra

TR 09: Computational modeling: Introducing the MEDPRAT concepts to the radiation community
Speaker: Jerry Meyers


TR 10: Evidence of chronic disease risks from epidemiological studies of diagnostic medical radiation
Speaker: Cari Kitahara


10:00AM - 10:30AM

Welcome and Opening Remarks with RRS President Susan Bailey, PhD


10:30AM - 11:30AM

Plenary 1: How the dichotomous roles of interferon signaling regulate radiation and immunotherapy response
Speaker: Andy Minn
Chair: Jonathon Himes


11:30AM - 11:45AM

Virtual Break


11:45AM - 1:15PM

S 06: DNA repair (I): Basic Research
Speakers: Jonathan Sczepanski, Lynn Harrison, Anthony Davis, Julio Morales
Chairs: Paul Doetsch, David Yu


S 07: Radiation emergency management: Experience from Japan, China and the US
Speakers: Kenji Kamiya, Qing-Jie Liu, Andrea DiCarlo-Cohen, Masahiro Hosoda
Chairs: Tom Hei, Satoshi Tashiro


S 08: Drug radiation combinations
Speakers: Ricky Sharma, Ranjit Bindra, Sarwat Naz, Xiao Pan
Chairs: Zach Reitman, Lauren Colbert


S 09: New approaches in pre-clinical particle radiotherapy
Speakers: Gabriel Sawakuchi, Peter van Luijk, Antje Dietrich, Juliann Kiang
Chairs: Michael Story, Thomas Friedrich


S 10: Radiosensitisers and hypoxia modifiers
Speaker: Michael Horsman, Ester Hammond, Faisal Rashed, Ashlyn Rickard
Chairs: Dietmar Siemann, Lori Rice


1:15PM - 2:15PM

Lunch: Virtual Poster Stroll & Exhibitor Appointments


2:15PM - 3:45PM

S 11: New advances in radiation modelling approaches
Speakers: Carmen Villagrasa, Aimee McNamara, Johann Matschke, Britta Langen
Chairs: Steven McMahon, Jose Ramos Mendez


S 12: NT effects (I) - Innovations in the molecular mechanisms of normal tissue damage
Speakers: M Kerry O'Banion, Marjan Boerma, XiangHong Li, Munjal Acharya
Chairs: Brian Marples


S 13: Immunotherapy RT combinations
Speakers: Zachary Morris, Sana Karam, Simon Keam, Amy Wisdom
Chairs: Shane Harding, Joseph Mancias


S 14: New approaches in clinical particle radiotherapy
Speakers: James Metz, Henning Willers, Nicholas Nelson, Verdiana Trappetti
Chairs: Simon Powell, Armin Luehr


S 15: The future of nanomedicines combined with radiotherapy
Speakers: Sunil Krishnan, Devika Chithrani, Samir Jenkins
Chairs: Jan Schuemann, Hilary Byrne


3:45PM - 4:00PM

Virtual Break


4:00PM - 5:15PM

Failla Award Lecture: The many facets of heavy ion science
Speaker: Marco Durante
Chair: Susan Bailey


5:15PM - 6:15PM

Sunset Session: RRS / NCI Joint session on career development & grantsmanship
Speaker: Michael Espey
Chair: Marc Mendonca