ICHCA International Awards

Celebrating excellence in cargo handling

The ICHCA International Awards Ceremony will take place on Tuesday 12 November at the Hilton Hotel, Malta. The 3rd TT Club Innovation in Safety Award and the 2nd John Strang A.O. Memorial Award will be presented to the Winners by Ms Heike Deggim of the International Maritime Organization.


        3rd TT Club Innovation in Safety Award Winner




What does the Award celebrate?

This Award was set up with the purpose of celebrating safety innovation in the cargo handling industry. Award entrants are required to show that a product, idea, solution, process, scheme or other innovation has resulted in a demonstrable improvement to safety.


Who can enter and how?

Anyone involved in Cargo Logistics - members, non-members, individuals, teams, companies.

Submit an entry explaining the following:

  • Safety Challenge addressed
  • Summary of Innovation
  • How was it Implemented
  • What was the result?
  • Conclusion/any other comments

We will also require your company logo (if applicable) and photos to illustrate the innovation (if applicable).


When can I enter?

The Award will open for nominations on 15 May 2019 and close by 30 September 2019. The shortlist will be announced in October and the Winner will be presented the Award by Ms Heike Deggim of the International Maritime Organization during the Award Ceremony on Tuesday 12 November 2019 at the Hilton Hotel in Malta.


How will the Award be judged?

A judging panel of industry experts will assess the entries according to strict assessment criteria:

1. Peregrine Storrs-Fox, Risk Management Director, TT Club
2. Rachael White, Member of ITP Panel & CEO of Next Level Information
3. Richard Brough, Head of ICHCA International
4. Bill Brassington, Chair of the ITP Panel & Independent Consultant
5. Cedric Rousseau, Joint Deputy Chair of ITP Panel & QHSSE Terminals & Inland Division Manager, CMA CGM
6. Stephan Stiehler, Joint Deputy Chair of ITP Panel & Independent Consultant



Previous winners

In 2017, Hapag-Lloyd won the Award for its Cargo Patrol system. This is an industry-leading attempt to reduce fraudulent cargo declarations that obscure the true identity of dangerous goods transported around the globe.

Safety Ammo was awarded the 2017 ‘Highly Commended’ prize for its RFID-based safety solution, developed with DP World Brisbane, which minimises the dangers faced by workers who physically handle twistlocks on the underside of containers on the waterfront.

Download all the 2017 entries


In 2016, APM Terminals Buenos Aires won the Award for its mobile port equipment ‘Safety Logging System’. This innovation produced measurable proven results in incident reduction and behavioural responses from the workforce.

The 2016 'Highly Commended' prize was awarded to Andrew Ryan, as nominated by Asciano in Australia, for the simple concept of the ‘Ryan Key’. This tool enables semi-automatic twist locks that have partially failed or been incorrectly installed to be ‘locked’ open, eliminating the need for operatives to remain in the danger zone to hold them whilst the container is discharged.

Download all the 2016 entries

       2nd John Strang A.O. Memorial Award


This Award was set up to celebrate lifetime achievement in the cargo handling industry