National Sports Safety and Security Conference

National Awards and Recognitions

Distinguished Leadership Award

Paul Denton, Chief of The Ohio State University Police Division
Paul Turner, Director of Event Operations and Security for the Dallas Cowboys and AT&T Stadium

Professional of the Year Award

John Leas, San Diego Padres (MLB)
David Born, Staples Center (NHL)
Brian Herbert, Quicken Loans Arena (NBA)
Jeff Steele, Auburn University (NCAA)
Amy Skeens-Benton, Carmel Clay High School (NFHS)
Mike Nishi, Chicago Marathon (Marathon)
Lon Rosenberg, formerly of the Washington Redskins (NFL)
Brian Corrigan, DC United - RFK Stadium (MLS)

Industry Leader Under 40 Award

Kyle McLaughlin, TCS New York City Marathon (Marathon)
Jerome Pickett, National Basketball Association (NBA)
Sal DeAngelis, Philadelphia Phillies (MLB)
Antonio Torres- Roman, Miami Marlins (MLB)
Steve Sanchez, Staples Center (NHL)
Joe Coomer, Global Spectrum at University of Phoenix Stadium (NFL)
Billy Lagenstein, Washington Nationals (MLB)

Facility of Merit Award

Madison Square Garden (NBA)
Jordan-Hare Stadium, Auburn University (NCAA)
Albertsons Stadium, Boise State University (NCAA)
California Memorial Stadium, University of California, Berkeley (NCAA)
Houseman Field, Grand Rapids School District, (NFHS)
Stutler Bowl & Legacy Stadium, Cherry Creek School District, (NFHS)
Wells Fargo Center (NHL)
Nationals Park (MLB)
TCS New York City Marathon (Marathon)
University of Phoenix Stadium (NFL)

Golden Eagle Award

Arecont Vision
Axis Communications
Rapiscan Systems

To view the full list of award recipients, visit