Desert Foot 2012
Desert Foot Podiatric Conference

2011 Desert Foot Abstract Winners
There are three (3) categories, Resident, Non Resident and a non-judged sponsor category. 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winners in the Resident and Non-Resident categories will be awarded prizes as listed below.

2011 Abstract Winners - along with Drs. Robert Frykberg and Jeffrey Robbins

There were many strong submissions in this year’s abstract contest --- far more than ever. The following were chosen by the Abstract Committee as the winners:

Non – Residents

1st Place Author: Mark Finkelstein, DPM
  Title: Standard of care model for treating DFU's and reducing amputations in the VA setting
2nd Place Author: Valerie Schade, DPM
  Title: Acute Charcot Neuroarthropathy: A Well Known Phenomenon to the Foot and Ankle 
  Specialist Which Remains a Diagnostic Challenge to the Medical Community At Large
3rd Place Authors: Shalbha Tiwari, M.Sc1; Daliparthy Devi Pratyush, M.Sc1; Sanjeev Kumar Gupta,
   MS2 and Surya Kumar Singh, DM1
  Title: Vitamin D and Proinflammatory Cytokine IL8 in Diabetic Foot


1st Place Authors: Shawn Norris, DPM; Jeffrey Wunning, DPM and John Grady, DPM 
  Title: An Update on the Use of Human Skin Equivalents at Jess Brown, VAMC
2nd Place Authors: Kimberlee B Hobizal, DPM and Dane K Wukich, MD
  Title: Hospitalized Diabetic Foot Infections
3rd Place Authors: Scott Gordon DPM; Robert G Frykberg, DPM, MPH and Edward Tierney, DPM
  Title:  Linezolid Associated Serotonin Syndrome. A Case Series.