2017 CSS Conference

Awards Winners

The CSS is pleased to announce a number of society awards that will be presented in opening ceremonies. Awards are adjudicated by a combination of Executive board members, scientific program committee members, and Past-presidents.

Distinguished Scientist Award

https://www.eiseverywhere.com/file_uploads/8d204c6fbabd7559e7c0a4c8cf7db1f7_BarbaraJones-fullbody.jpgThe Canadian Sleep Society (CSS) is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2017 Distinguished Scientist Award is Professor Barbara E. Jones PhD, FRSC, Professor Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery McGill University, Montreal Neurological Institute. This award is in recognition of a scientist who has made significant contributions to the field of sleep research in Canada.

Dr. Jones seeks to understand how the brain generates states of waking and sleep. She focuses on the neuroanatomical organization, chemical neurotransmitters and physiology of the specific neural circuits in the brainstem, hypothalamus and basal forebrain, which stimulate and maintain a waking state, as well as those which reciprocally arrest waking and promote sleep. To study these neural systems, her laboratory employs in vivoneurophysiological recording in naturally waking/sleeping rodents, combined with neuroanatomical and histochemical techniques. One major facet of her research program has been investigating the way in which cholinergic neurons in the brainstem and basal forebrain stimulate cortical activation with theta and gamma EEG activity during waking and paradoxical sleep. Her group has studied cholinergic along with other neuromodulatory systems, including noradrenergic, orexinergic and MCH neurons, and how they can modulate the functionally diverse glutamatergic and GABAergic neurons, which work in balance as the effector neurons for cortical activity and behavioral states. Most recently, her group has examined how these systems are regulated in a homeostatic manner to similarly regulate sleep and waking.

She will receive her award during the opening ceremonies on Saturday morning at 8:00 am. Professor Jones is also one of our keynote speakers during the scientific meeting this year. Come and join us for her address, scheduled on Saturday from 8:30 – 9:30 am titled “Neural and Chemical Systems Mediating Sleep-wake States and their Homeostatic Regulation”.

Roger Broughton Young Investigator Award Winner

The Roger Broughton Young Investigator Award honours the contributions of Dr. Roger Broughton, founding President of the Canadian Sleep Society (1986-88), and one of the founding figures of Canadian sleep research. The award will be made to a young scientist for important early career research contributions, rather than a single submitted abstract or paper.

Please join us in congratulating this year’s winner, Stuart Fogel.

Stuart Fogel, PhD

Dr. Stuart Fogel is an Assistant Professor in the School of Psychology at the University of Ottawa, Director of Sleep Neuroscience at The Royal’s Institute for Mental Health Research and an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Psychology at Western University. He received his PhD in Neuroscience at Queen’s University from the Centre for Neuroscience Studies in 2010. He was a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Montreal in 2013 and held a position as a Research Scientist at the Brain and Mind Institute at Western University.

He helped lead the discovery that bursts of brain activity during sleep called “sleep spindles” are associated with overnight enhancement of newly formed memory, and are an electrophysiological marker of cognitive abilities. His research employs a unique combination of behavioural, cognitive, electrophysiological, functional and structural neuroimaging and is one of the few in the world to employ combined EEG-fMRI techniques to explore the function of sleep for memory and cognition. He has published over 30 highly cited peer-reviewed papers in high-impact journals (e.g., Nature Neuroscience, Cerebral Cortex, Plos Biology, Human Brain Mapping, and others), and has given dozens of talks about his research around the world. Funding from both Provincial and National funding agencies have supported Stuart’s research throughout his training and career. He has played an active role on the Executive Committee of the Canadian Sleep Society, and his research is frequently talked about in the national and international media where he advocates for the importance of sleep to support good physical and mental health.

Stuart will receive his award during the opening ceremonies on Saturday morning at 8:00.

Past Winners of the Roger Broughton Young Investigator Award :

2004 Kimberly Cote
2007 John Peever and Penny Corkum
2009 Jean-Francois Gagnon
2011 Robyn Stremler
2013 Antoine Adamantidis
2015 Jean-Philippe Chaput and Thanh Dang-Vu

CSS Technologist Service Award

This award honours and recognizes a CSS member who has made significant contributions to the growth and development of the sleep technology profession.

The CSS is pleased to present this year award to: Laree Fordyce, RPSGT, RST, CCRP, CSE, Calgary, Alberta

Student Outstanding Achievement Awards

This award is for the scientific merit of a single publication by a student in the field of sleep research. Funding for these awards is made through the CSS student fund – thank you to CSS members who made contributions to the student fund with their CSS registration.

The CSS is pleased to present this year’s awards to:

  1. Richard Boyce, Integrated Program in Neuroscience, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec for his innovative publication: “Causal evidence for the role of REM sleep theta rhythm in contextual memory consolidation”http://utmemoryclub.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/causal-evidence-for-the-role-of-REM-sleep-theta-rhythm-in-contextual-memory-consolidation.pdf

  2. Samuel Laventure, Department of Psychology, University of Montreal, Montreal, Quebec, Functional Neuroimaging Unit, C.R.I.U.G.M., Montreal, Quebec for his innovative publication: “NREM2 and Sleep Spindles Are Instrumental to the Consolidation of Motor Sequence Memories”http://journals.plos.org/plosbiology/article?id=10.1371/journal.pbio.1002429

Both recipients will receive their awards during the opening ceremonies on Saturday morning at 8:00 am.

Student Abstract Prize Winner

Each year the CSS holds a competition for CSS student members for the best abstract submitted (to either SLEEP in the U.S., or CSS when conferences are held in Canada). The competition is open to trainees (undergraduate or graduate students) who are current CSS members. The award applicant must be the first author on the abstract presented at the CSS 2017 meeting in Calgary.

STUDENT ABSTRACT PRIZE WINNER – Sara Pintwala, PhD student at the University of the Toronto in the Department of Cells and Systems Biology.
Abstract Title: “Activation of glutamate cells in the subcoeruleus nucleus triggers cataplexy-like attacks in wild-type mice”. 
Presentation time: Symposium 7: Young Investigator Symposium on Sunday, April 30 beginning at 10:30 am

Canadian Sleep Society (CSS) / Institute for Circulatory and Respiratory Health (ICRH) Student Travel Awards

This is a travel award given to top rated abstracts to attend the Calgary conference.

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2017 ICRH Student Travel Awards:

  • Cloé Blanchette-Carriere, Dream and Nightmare Laboratory, Center for Advanced Research in Sleep Medicine, Montreal
  • Sara Pintwala, Department of Cell and Systems Biology, University of Toronto