2015 CSO50 Security Confab + Awards

CSO magazine’s annual CSO50 Awards

Presented at the CSO50 Security Confab + Awards conference, the 3rd annual CSO50 Awards will recognize security projects and initiatives that demonstrate outstanding business value and thought leadership. Unlike awards programs that recognize individuals, the CSO50 awards will honor specific organizations and a particular project/initiative within each organization.

Award nominations were submitted by organizations themselves, by public relations professionals representing a nominated organization, and by solution providers/partners of a nominated organization.

  2015 CSO50 Award Winners
  Meet the class of 2015

How nominations were judged:
Nominations for the CSO50 Awards were scored on a uniform set of criteria by a panel of judges including security leaders, industry experts, and academics.

The final honoree selections were made by CSO's editors based on this scoring process.

50 honorees are selected each year. Previous honorees are welcome to nominate new projects.

Types of projects that were eligible:
Eligible projects and initiatives could include a process or organizational change, a systems implementation, a significant one-time exercise -- any work that aims to solve a business challenge.

The value delivered could be measured in financial terms (revenue enabled, losses reduced or recouped, costs eliminated), in terms of business agility, or whatever is of benefit recognized by the business.

Verifiable measurements will receive top consideration in the judging process.

How the CSO50 Awards are different from the CSO Compass Awards:
The CSO50 Awards recognize organizations for specific projects, completed within a set timeframe. Honorees are chosen based on value delivered to the business by that project. In the future and based on different projects, it is possible for a single organization to win a CSO50 recognition more than once.

The CSO Compass Awards are lifetime achievement awards given to no more than six individuals each year. Compass Award honorees represent a "Hall of Fame" of security and risk management leaders recognized by CSO magazine.