ASJA 2020 Teleconnections
Please note that to begin the process you must purchase the amount of submissions you'd like to make. Before leaving this page we recommend opening this step-by-step guide to reference while completing the submission process.
Before you begin the awards submission process, take some time to review our submission rules guidelines.
Deadline for submissions: Thursday, January 30, 2020 
2020 Awards Co-Chairs:
Salley Shannon, ASJA Past President and Janine Latus
For a list of past award winners, please click here


The Arlenes: Articles That Make a Difference

ASJA member Howard Eisenberg established the Arlene Eisenberg Memorial Fund to honor his late wife, the author of What to Expect When You're Expecting and other bestselling books that made a difference in the lives of mothers worldwide. Income generated by the fund allows ASJA to give monetary awards to winners of "Arlenes," which are given annually for articles and once every three years for books. The winning book or freelance article must have "made a difference" by inspiring positive action within a locale or community, society, or the world. In the past, the award has been given for articles or books that inspired readers to do such things as lobby for legislation or to form an advocacy group. Past winners also have stirred officials to launch an investigation, correct an injustice, or remove a hazard.

The Arlene Article Award is presented annually for an article published within the prior two years. For 2020, eligible articles must have been published in 2018 or 2019.

To be considered for an Arlene, articles MUST be:
  • Published in the United States within the stated period
  • Freelance written
  • Accompanied by documentation supporting the positive impact of the book or article. This may include evidence of media coverage, testimonials, or other public recognition.

The Donald Robinson Memorial Award for Investigative Journalism

This award honors ASJA's third president, a noted investigative writer. Articles entered should demonstrate outstanding writing and organization plus new or hitherto unrevealed research. Or if the topic frequently gets attention, it should show it in a new light.

The work of any writer may be nominated so long as it is freelance-written and published or released in the United States during the eligibility period. (Staff-written work does not qualify.)

If the work was supported by a grant or payment from a foundation or other organization, or the author was otherwise aided (such as in data collection or statistical analysis) we ask that this be noted at the time of submission, along with the time period for any such support. This is solely for the purpose of establishing that the work was freelance-written.

Outstanding Article Awards

These awards honor writers whose articles, produced on a freelance basis, have demonstrated excellence in writing, research and clarity of presentation.

  • Fitness & Sports - This includes pieces on running, fitness, and any sport or specific sporting event. Profiles may be entered here or in "Profiles," but not both.
  • Food & Drink - This includes articles about food, wine, beer, a restaurant or restaurants, a vineyard, cooks and the like.
  • Opinion /Op-Eds - Category may include blog posts published by third parties. In addition to the writer’s opinion, entries must include reported evidence/research.


June Roth Memorial Awards for Outstanding Medical Article

The June Roth Memorial Fund was established by her late husband to honor our 31st president, a well-known medical writer. Income generated by the fund provides monetary awards to ASJA members whose articles or books represent exceptional achievement in health and medical writing. The June Roth Article Award is offered every year.

For 2020, eligible articles must have been published in 2019.

Outstanding Book Awards

These awards are conferred upon ASJA members whose nonfiction books are deemed significant, exceptionally well-researched and skillfully written.

Open to members' books published in the United States during calendar year 2019. Entries may be written by an individual author or may be collaborative works. Self-published books, ebooks, and traditionally published books may be nominated.

The categories:
  • Biography/History
  • Children/Young Adult Nonfiction
  • General Nonfiction
  • Memoir/Autobiography
  • Service/Self-help
  • June Roth Award for a Medical Book

Outstanding Article Awards

These awards honor ASJA members whose articles, produced on a freelance basis, have demonstrated excellence in writing, research and clarity of presentation.

  • Blog Post, Personal - This is intended for posts, or a collection of no more than three related posts on the same topic, published on personal blogs. [Articles appearing on third-party blogs should be entered in Opinion/Op-Ed or Reported Essays.]
  • Business, including marketing - This category is for any business-related article.
  • Excellence in Reporting - The category was formerly called "Reporting on a Significant Topic." Consideration will be given to the relevance and universality of the topic, as well as overall excellence.
  • First-Person Essays - The category includes personal essays that are entirely based on personal experiences, reflections or observations. [See Reported Essays.]
  • Health - Any piece on a health topic is eligible, no matter where published.
  • How-To - Formerly "Service" articles. These may include advice, self-help, or how to do something.
  • Lifestyle - includes articles on matters of culture, style, leisure and home pursuits (including decorating and companion animals), art and music criticism and reviews.
  • Profiles - The category includes all profiles, no matter where published. Formerly, members entered profiles appearing in trade journals in the "Trade" category.
  • Reported Essays - This category is for personal essays that incorporate research supporting the topic.
  • Science - Articles on any science subject may be entered.
  • Technology - Articles on any tech subject may be entered.
  • Trade - This category includes pieces that appeared in a specialized industry or professional publication intended for members or those who work in a specific field.
  • Travel - Any narrative travel article is eligible.