SPIN 2017 - Sharing Progress in Neonatology

Sharing Progress in Neonatology
32nd International Workshop on Surfactant Replacement

Dear Friends and colleagues,


Welcome to the “SPIN (Sharing Progress in Neonatology)” including the 32nd International Workshop on Surfactant Replacement.  This Congress will highlight research progress in Neonatology including brain injury and development and lung diseases.

We are grateful to the eminent international speakers very fortunate to have well-known speakers from all over of the world who will discuss cutting edge issues in the field of the vulnerable newborn brain, neuroimaging, stem cell treatment, pulmonary circulation, retinopathy of prematurity, new non-invasive ventilation strategies, new guidelines on RDS, bronco-pulmonary dysplasia, the appropriate level of oxygen etc.

It is also very important to obtain abstracts from the participants in order to sustain a highly qualitative program, which also includes free papers and posters. Experienced chairmen, will undoubtedly catalyze lively discussions in every session.

The opening ceremony will be held on May 26th and will include the 9th Bengt Robertson Memorial Lecture held by Prof. Dominique Haumont (Bruxelles, Belgium). We expect over 400 delegates from numerous countries and different continents attending the meeting. In spite of the changes in the title of the Congress, we assure to keep the traditional workshop style in a very friendly atmosphere.

This meeting is characterized by friendly interactions between speakers and delegates to allow an active debate on basic and clinical issues aimed at improving the quality of care of sick newborns and preterm babies. Returning home armed with better approaches to everyday clinical problems probably constitutes one of the most important achievements of this meeting.

Both the Organizing Committee and I as President of this Workshop look forward very much to meeting you all in Dublin, and we hope you enjoy a very interactive scientific meeting.


Prof. Eleanor Molloy

President of SPIN 2017

Prof. Eleanor Molloy
Dublin, Ireland

Prof. Tore Curstedt
Stockholm, Sweden
Prof. Henry Halliday
Belfast, UK
Prof. Mikko Hallman
Oulu, Finland
Prof. Ola D. Saugstad
Oslo, Norway

Prof. Christian P.Speer
Würzburg, Germany


Jatinder Bhatia, USA

Geraldine Boylan, Ireland

Wally Carlo, USA

Gene Dempsey, Ireland

Simon Eaton, UK

Samir Gupta, UK

Henry Halliday, UK

Dominique Haumont, Belgium

Boris Kramer, The Nethelands

Luca Ramenghi, Italy

Nicola J.  Robertson, UK

Mark Turner, UK

David Warburton, USA